At the ATP Lyon 2021, Jannik Sinner won a super match against Aslan Karatsev, despite he lost the first set 0-6. The young Italian qualified for the second round thanks to a victory in three sets, ending the last two sets 6-3 6-4.
The rain conditions Sinner terribly during the first set. Karatsev, who simplistically takes advantage of three of the six break chances he has available, while conceding something in the first two batting rounds still manages to close with a very round 6-0.
After a brief discussion with the chair judge, needless to say seasoned with a warning, the Italian talented player completely changes his attitude. The initial 4-0 tells all the hows and all the whys. Karatsev, who called to make up fifteen behind in the fifth game takes advantage of an error near the South Tyrolean tennis player’s net, lets his arm go completely and with a series of three consecutive points also recovers one of the two disadvantage breaks.
One step away from the first goal, Sinner needs to cancel a total of five break points. The rain returns as protagonist during the deciding set, when the luminous scoreboard is stopped at 2-1 the Russian.
Upon returning to the field (after about sixty minutes) the Italian tennis player does not take advantage of a handful of break points at 3-3, but above all cancels one in the game immediately following and at the foot of the tenth game delivers the decisive push.