Schwartzman & Garin Lead Buenos Aires Action; All You Need To Know

Born in Buenos Aires and named after football legend Diego Maradona, Diego Schwartzman is about as Argentine as they come. The former World No. 8 will hope that home court advantage will help him take a sip from the Argentina Open trophy for the first time. 

Home talent has enjoyed plenty of success in Buenos Aires, winning four editions during 2004-2008, but it’s been 13 years since an Argentine has won since then. With the tournament introducing a new trophy in 2017 in the shape of a mate gourd – a nod to the country’s favourite beverage – fans are more eager than ever for an Argentine champion to toast his victory. 

Schwartzman will be joined by Chile’s Cristian Garin as both of South America’s top-ranked singles players hit the court at the ATP 250 event. Contested on red clay at the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, known as the “Cathedral of Argentinean tennis”, the tournament also features Benoit Paire, Miomir Kecmanovic and Albert Ramos-Vinolas.

Here’s all you need to know about Buenos Aires tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who has won and more. 

Established: 2001

Tournament Dates: 1-7 March 2021

Tournament Director: Martin Jaite

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 27 February at 3pm

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox


Are You In? Subscribe Now!


Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday 27 February – Monday 1 March; Saturday at 9:30am, Sunday and Monday at 11am
* Main draw: Monday 1 – Sunday 7 March, Monday – Friday at 11am and 6pm (weekend start times TBA)
* Doubles final: Start time TBA
* Singles final: Start time TBA

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 
TV Schedule

Venue: Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis
Main Court Seating: 4,800

Prize Money: US $329,550 (Total Financial Commitment: US $411,940) 

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: David Ferrer (3)
Most Titles, Doubles: Horacio Zeballos (4)
Oldest Champion: David Ferrer, 31, in 2014
Youngest Champion: Casper Ruud, 21, in 2020
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 2 Gustavo Kuerten in 2001
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 90 Nicolas Massu in 2002
Most Match Wins: Nicolas Almagro (29) 

2020 Finals
Singles: [8] Casper Ruud (NOR) d [LL] Pedro Sousa (POR) 61 64   Read & Watch
Doubles: [1] Marcel Granollers (ESP) / Horacio Zeballos (ARG) d Guillermo Duran (ARG) / Juan Ignacio Londero 6-4, 5-7, 18-16   Read More 

Hashtag: #ArgOpen2021

Facebook: @ArgentinaOpen
Twitter: @ArgentinaOpen
Instagram: @argentinaopenatp

Did You Know… From Carlos Moya’s triumph in 2003 to Rafael Nadal’s in 2015, Spaniards and Argentines (David Nalbandian, Juan Monaco, Gaston Gaudio, Guillermo Coria) shared 13 straight titles in Buenos Aires.

Leave a Reply