Home Hope Schwartzman Leads Cordoba Field: All You Need To Know

Diego Schwartzman will return to the Cordoba Open looking to delight Argentine tennis fans by lifting an ATP Tour trophy on home soil for the first time. 

The World No. 9 came agonisingly close last year, falling short in a final that went to three sets. But Schwartzman will have another shot at the third edition of this ATP 250 event, set to kick off on 22 February. Two of Schwartzman’s three ATP Tour titles have come on clay, and he’s made half of his 10 career finals on the surface.

But Schwartzman won’t be flying the sky blue and white flag alone. He leads a strong Argentine contingent that includes Juan Ignacio Londero, who won his maiden ATP Tour title at the 2019 edition, as well as Guido Pella, Federico Delbonis and Federico Coria. They will be among the players aiming to become Cordoba’s third consecutive South American champion, after Chilean Cristian Garin’s victory in 2020. 

Benoit Paire, Miomir Kecmanovic, Albert Ramos-Vinolas and Pablo Andujar are also in action at the ATP Tour’s first clay-court tournament of the season.

Here’s all you need to know about the Cordoba tennis tournament: what is the schedule, when is the draw, who has won, how to watch and more. 

Established: 2019

Tournament Dates: 22-28 February 2021 

Tournament Director: Mariano Ink

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 20 February 2021 at 4pm

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday, 20 February – Sunday, 21 February at 11am
* Main draw: Monday, 22 February – Sunday, 28 February at 2:30pm and 6:30pm (Saturday 4pm)
* Doubles final: Sunday, 28 February at 5pm
* Singles final: Sunday, 28 February at 7pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 
TV Schedule

Venue: Kempes Stadium
Surface: Outdoor Clay

Prize Money: US $294,235 (Total Financial Commitment: US $356,035)

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll
Most Titles, Singles: Cristian Garin (1), Juan Ignacio Londero (1)
Most Titles, Doubles: Roman Jebavy (1), Andres Molteni (1), Marcelo Demoliner (1), Matwe Middelkoop (1)
Oldest Champion: Juan Ignacio Londero, 25, in 2019
Youngest Champion: Cristian Garin, 23, in 2020
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 31 Cristian Garin in 2020
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 112 Juan Ignacio Londero in 2019
Most Match Wins: Juan Ignacio Londero (7)
Last Home Champion: Juan Ignacio Londero in 2019

2020 Finals
Singles: [3/WC] Cristian Garin (CHI) d. [1] Diego Schwartzman (ARG) 2-6, 6-4, 6-0  Read More
Doubles: [3] Marcelo Demoliner/Matwe Middelkoop d. Leonardo Mayer/Andres Molteni 6-3, 7-6(4)  Read More

Hashtag: #CordobaOpen2021
Facebook: Córdoba Open
Twitter: @CordobaOpen
Instagram: @CordobaOpen

Leave a Reply